Faculty & Staff

Many of UMass Boston’s most distinguished scholar-teachers as well as practitioners and individuals from outside of UMass Boston serve as Honors College instructors. Among them are:

Core Faculty

Rajini Srikanth

Dean of the Honors College and Professor of English, College of Liberal Arts

Rajini.Srikanth@umb.edu

Expertise: Human rights and literature; American literature (including Asian American literature, Native American literature, and literature of the American South); interdisciplinary approaches to literature; literature in the context of comparative race and ethnicities; pedagogy of literature; literatures of the Middle East

Megan Rokop

Associate Dean, Honors College

Megan.Rokop@umb.edu

Steven M. Ackerman

Associate Professor of Biology -- Gene Regulation in Plants and Animals

Steven.Ackerman@umb.edu

Expertise: Gene Regulation in Plants and Animals

Randy Corpuz

Assistant Professor of Psychology, Psychology Department and Honors College

Randy.Corpuz@umb.edu

Expertise: Evolution and human behavior, developmental psychology, social neuroscience

S. Tiffany Donaldson

Professor of Psychology, Psychology Department and Honors College

Tiffany.Donaldson@umb.edu

Expertise: Brain changes underlying psychostimulant abuse; the female body’s natural response to pain, immediately preceding pregnancy and during delivery

Mary Oleskiewicz

Professor of Music, College of Liberal Arts

Mary.Oleskiewicz@hotmail.com; Mary.Oleskiewicz@umb.edu

Expertise: Flute (Modern Flute, Baroque Flute, Native and South American flutes), Musicology, Performance Practice, Chamber Music Coaching, Latin American Music and Dance, Organology

Affiliated Faculty

Nada Mustafa Ali

Lecturer of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, College of Liberal Arts

nada.ali@umb.edu & gender_justice@yahoo.com

Expertise: Gender and development; governance; human rights; militarization and post-conflict settings; HIV/AIDS; feminist theories and methodologies; the Middle East and Africa, including Sudan, South Sudan, Nigeria, Zambia, Kenya, and Egypt

Paul Atwood

Senior Lecturer in American Studies, College of Liberal Arts

Paul.Atwood@umb.edu

Julie Batten

Associate Lecturer, Honors College

honors@umb.edu

Daria Boeninger

Lecturer in Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

Daria.Boeninger@umb.edu

Expertise: Lifespan development; developmental psychopathology and prevention of suicide; stress & coping processes; prevention and health promotion; longitudinal quantitative methodology

Jared Bridgeman (Akrobatik)

Visiting Lecturer, Honors College

Philip Chassler

Senior Lecturer of American Studies, College of Liberal Arts

philip.chassler@umb.edu

Expertise: Working people's and labor history from the US Civil War to the present; early 20th-century American Fiction: Realism, Naturalism, and Modernism

Diane D’Arrigo

Assistant Vice Chancellor, Campus Services

Diane.DArrigo@umb.edu

Pacey C. Foster

Associate Professor of Management

pacey.foster@umb.edu

Expertise: Creative industries

Christopher Fung

Senior Lecturer in Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts

Christopher.Fung@umb.edu

Expertise: Race, nationalism, hybridity, museums, settler societies, archaeology, Mesoamerica, United States, Hawai`i, China and Sub-Saharan Africa

Itai Halevi

Lecturer II in English, College of Liberal Arts

itai.halevi@umb.edu

Avak Hasratian

Lecturer II in English, College of Liberal Arts

avak.hasratian@umb.edu

John Hess

Senior Lecturer in English, College of Liberal Arts

john.hess@umb.edu

Terry Kawashima

Department Chair, Professor of Asian Studies, College of Liberal Arts

Terry.Kawashima@umb.edu

Expertise: Heian and medieval Japanese literature and culture

Paul Kirshen

Professor of Climate Adaptation, School for the Environment

Paul.Kirshen@umb.edu

Expertise: Water Resources Engineering and Management

Kathryn Kogan

Senior Lecturer II in Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

Kathryn.Kogan@umb.edu

Expertise: Addictive disorders, Impact of Chronic Illness, Adult Psychotherapy, Group Psychotherapy

Daniel Messier

Lecturer I in English, College of Liberal Arts

Daniel.Messier@umb.edu

Kristin Murphy

Assistant Professor of Special Education, College of Education and Human Development

Kristin.Murphy@umb.edu

Louise Penner

Associate Professor of English and University Fellowships Director

louise.penner@umb.edu

Expertise: Victorian literature

Brittany Peterson

Lecturer in English and Assistant Director of Composition, College of Liberal Arts

Brittany.Peterson@umb.edu

Expertise: Composition theory and pedagogy, writing studies, collaborative learning and writing, Executive Function coaching

Alexia Pollack

Associate Professor of Biology - Neurobiology.

Alexia.Pollack@umb.edu

Expertise: Neurobiology

Rebecca Romanow

Senior Lecturer in English, College of Liberal Arts

Rebecca.romanow@umb.edu

C. Eduardo Siqueira

Associate Professor of Environment and Public Health, School for the Environment

Carlos.Siqueira@umb.edu

Expertise: Environmental Justice

Rachel Skvirsky

Associate Professor of Biology - Molecular Genetics.

rachel.skvirsky@umb.edu

Expertise: Molecular Genetics

Robert Stevenson

Associate Professor of Biology - Animal Physiology.

Robert.Stevenson@umb.edu

Expertise: Animal Physiology

Frederick Stubbs

Senior Lecturer II in Music, College of Liberal Arts

frederick.stubbs@umb.edu

Expertise: World music and ethnomusicology

Paul Watanabe

Director of the Institute for Asian American Studies and Professor of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts

Paul.Watanabe@umb.edu

Expertise: American Foreign Policy, American Political Behavior, Ethnic Group Politics, and Asian Americans

Michael Johnson

Professor and Chair, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

michael.johnson@umb.edu

Expertise: Management science planning models for public-sector facility location and service delivery, with applications to assisted housing and senior services

Mickaella Perina

Associate Professor

Mickaella.Perina@umb.edu

Expertise: Philosophy of law, social and political philosophy, contemporary French philosophy, Caribbean philosophy, race theory

Holly Jackson

Associate Professor of English, College of Liberal Arts

Holly.Jackson@umb.edu

Expertise: American literature and culture; American protest movements and utopian thought; the 19th-century novel; the Civil War era; African American studies; queer studies.

Sari Edelstein

Associate Professor of English, College of Liberal Arts

sari.edelstein@umb.edu

Expertise: 19th Century American Literature and Culture; Women Writers; History of Journalism; Age Studies; Print Culture Studies; Feminist and Queer Theory

Nir Eisikovits

Associate Professor of Philosophy & Director of the Applied Ethics Center

Nir.Eisikovits@umb.edu

Expertise: Transitional Justice and Post War Reconstruction

Matthew Brown

Associate Professor of English and Graduate Program Director, College of Liberal Arts

matthew.brown@umb.edu

Expertise: Global literatures in English; twentieth and twenty-first century British and Irish literature; transnational modernism; postcolonial theory, especially theories on human rights, humanitarian intervention, and citizenship; critical theory; film studies

Reinmar Seidler

Research Assistant Professor & Lecturer of Biology, College of Science and Mathematics.

reinmar.seidler@umb.edu

Expertise: Evolutionary Biology

Jeslyn Medoff

Senior Lecturer in English, College of Liberal Arts

Jeslyn.Medoff@umb.edu

Edward Tronick

Distinguished University Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

Edward.Tronick@umb.edu

Expertise: Developmental Psychology and Neurophysiology

Rosemary Minehan

Associate Lecturer, Honors College

rosemary.minehan@umb.edu

Staff

Abby Cheng

Program Manager and Science Student Career Mentoring Specialist, Honors College

Abby.Cheng@umb.edu

Caitlin Ferrarini

Student Development and Career Mentoring Specialist, Honors College

Caitlin.Ferrarini@umb.edu

Lisa Greggo

Assistant Dean, Honors College

Lisa.Greggo@umb.edu

Jason Roush

Program and Advising Coordinator, Honors College

Jason.Roush@umb.edu