Faculty & Staff

Many of UMass Boston’s most distinguished scholar-teachers as well as practitioners and individuals from outside of UMass Boston serve as Honors College instructors. Among them are:

Core Faculty

Rajini Srikanth

Dean of the Honors College and Professor of English, College of Liberal Arts

Rajini.Srikanth@umb.edu

Expertise: Human rights and literature; American literature (including Asian American literature, Native American literature, and literature of the American South); interdisciplinary approaches to literature; literature in the context of comparative race and ethnicities; pedagogy of literature; literatures of the Middle East

Megan Rokop

Associate Dean, Honors College

Megan.Rokop@umb.edu

Steven M. Ackerman

Associate Professor of Biology -- Gene Regulation in Plants and Animals

Steven.Ackerman@umb.edu

Expertise: Gene Regulation in Plants and Animals

Randy Corpuz

Assistant Professor of Psychology, Psychology Department and Honors College

Randy.Corpuz@umb.edu

Expertise: Evolution and human behavior, developmental psychology, social neuroscience

S. Tiffany Donaldson

Associate Professor of Psychology, Psychology Department and Honors College

Tiffany.Donaldson@umb.edu

Expertise: Brain changes underlying psychostimulant abuse; the female body’s natural response to pain, immediately preceding pregnancy and during delivery

Guy Numa

Assistant Professor of Economics, Economics Department and Honors College

Guy.Numa@umb.edu

Expertise: History of Economic Thought, Monetary Economics, Microeconomics, Industrial Organization, Caribbean Political Economy

Affiliated Faculty

Nada Mustafa Ali

Lecturer of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, College of Liberal Arts

gender_justice@yahoo.com

Expertise: Gender and development; governance; human rights; militarization and post-conflict settings; HIV/AIDS; feminist theories and methodologies; the Middle East and Africa, including Sudan, South Sudan, Nigeria, Zambia, Kenya, and Egypt

Paul Atwood

Senior Lecturer in American Studies, College of Liberal Arts

Paul.Atwood@umb.edu

Julie Batten

Associate Lecturer, Honors College

honors@umb.edu

Daria Boeninger

Lecturer in Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

Daria.Boeninger@umb.edu

Expertise: Lifespan development, especially stress and coping processes & developmental psychopathology of suicidality; prevention science; longitudinal quantitative methodology (including latent variable measurement modeling)

Jared Bridgeman (Akrobatik)

Visiting Lecturer, Honors College

Maria Brincker

Associate Professor (Philosophy of Mind & Neuroscience)

Maria.Brincker@umb.edu

Expertise: Philosophy of Mind, Psychology and Neuroscience

Philip Chassler

Senior Lecturer of American Studies, College of Liberal Arts

philip.chassler@umb.edu

Expertise: Working people's and labor history from the US Civil War to the present; early 20th-century American Fiction: Realism, Naturalism, and Modernism

Connie Chow

Associate Lecturer, Honors College

honors@umb.edu

Diane D’Arrigo

Assistant Vice Chancellor, Campus Services

Diane.DArrigo@umb.edu

Aaron Devine

Lecturer, Honors College

honors@umb.edu

Pacey C. Foster

Associate Professor of Management

pacey.foster@umb.edu

Expertise: Creative industries

Anamarija Frankić

Director, Green Harbors Project

Anamarija.Frankic@umb.edu

Expertise: Coastal ecosystems conservation and management

Christopher Fung

Senior Lecturer in Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts

Christopher.Fung@umb.edu

Expertise: Race, nationalism, hybridity, museums, settler societies, archaeology, Mesoamerica, United States, Hawai`i, China and Sub-Saharan Africa

Itai Halevi

Lecturer II in English, College of Liberal Arts

itai.halevi@umb.edu

Avak Hasratian

Lecturer II in English, College of Liberal Arts

avak.hasratian@umb.edu

John Hess

Senior Lecturer in English, College of Liberal Arts

john.hess@umb.edu

Terry Kawashima

Department Chair, Professor of Asian Studies, College of Liberal Arts

Terry.Kawashima@umb.edu

Expertise: Heian and medieval Japanese literature and culture

Paul Kirshen

Academic Director, Sustainable Solutions Lab

Paul.Kirshen@umb.edu

Expertise: Water Resources Engineering and Management

Elena Korepanova

Honors College Instructor

honors@umb.edu

Kathryn Kogan

Senior Lecturer II in Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

Kathryn.Kogan@umb.edu

Expertise: Addictive disorders, Impact of Chronic Illness, Adult Psychotherapy, Group Psychotherapy

Muhammad Masud

Assistant Professor of Arabic Studies, College of Liberal Arts

Muhammad.Masud@umb.edu

Expertise: Modern Arabic literature and culture, Arab authoritarianism, refugee studies, fundamentalist movements, terrorism and radicalization, global Islamic studies, contemporary Islamic thought, Muslim women’s voices, and global youth literature and culture.

Daniel Messier

Lecturer I in English, College of Liberal Arts

Daniel.Messier@umb.edu

Ruth A. Miller

Professor of History, College of Liberal Arts

Ruth.Miller@umb.edu

Expertise: Professor Miller’s primary area of expertise is the history of gender and sexuality, with particular reference to the Ottoman Empire and West Asia. Her research and teaching interests also include legal theory, the history and theory of computation, and historical methodology.

Kristin Murphy

Assistant Professor of Special Education, College of Education and Human Development

Kristin.Murphy@umb.edu

Mary Oleskiewicz

Professor of Music, College of Liberal Arts

Mary.Oleskiewicz@hotmail.com; Mary.Oleskiewicz@umb.edu

Expertise: Flute (Modern Flute, Baroque Flute, Native and South American flutes), Musicology, Performance Practice, Chamber Music Coaching, Latin American Music and Dance, Organology

Louise Penner

Associate Professor of English and University Fellowships Director

louise.penner@umb.edu

Expertise: Victorian literature

Brittany Peterson

Lecturer in English and Assistant Director of Composition, College of Liberal Arts

Brittany.Peterson@umb.edu

Expertise: Composition theory and pedagogy, writing studies, collaborative learning and writing, Executive Function coaching

Alexia Pollack

Associate Professor of Biology - Neurobiology.

Alexia.Pollack@umb.edu

Expertise: Neurobiology

Rebecca Romanow

Senior Lecturer in English, College of Liberal Arts

Rebecca.romanow@umb.edu

C. Eduardo Siqueira

Associate Professor of Environment and Public Health, School for the Environment

Carlos.Siqueira@umb.edu

Expertise: Environmental Justice

Rachel Skvirsky

Associate Professor of Biology - Molecular Genetics.

rachel.skvirsky@umb.edu

Expertise: Molecular Genetics

Robert Stevenson

Associate Professor of Biology - Animal Physiology.

Robert.Stevenson@umb.edu

Expertise: Animal Physiology

Alan Stoskopf

Associate Lecturer, Honors College

honors@umb.edu

Frederick Stubbs

Senior Lecturer II in Music, College of Liberal Arts

frederick.stubbs@umb.edu

Expertise: World music and ethnomusicology

Paul Watanabe

Director of the Institute for Asian American Studies and Professor of the Political Science, College of Liberal Arts

Paul.Watanabe@umb.edu

Expertise: American Foreign Policy, American Political Behavior, Ethnic Group Politics, and Asian Americans

Vivian Zamel

Professor of English, College of Liberal Arts

Vivian.Zamel@umb.edu

Expertise: English as a Second Language; Composition Theory & Practice; Applied Linguistics

Staff

Abby Cheng

Science Student Development and Career Mentoring Specialist, Honors College

Abby.Cheng@umb.edu

Caitlin Ferrarini

Student Development and Career Mentoring Specialist, Honors College

Caitlin.Ferrarini@umb.edu

Lisa Greggo

Assistant Dean, Honors College

Lisa.Greggo@umb.edu

Jason Roush

Program and Advising Coordinator, Honors College

Jason.Roush@umb.edu

Honors College Ambassadors